The NFL Has Announced 2018’s Man of the Year Award Nominees


On Thursday, December 6, the National Football League officially announced the 2018 Walter Payton Man of the Year award nominees. The list features 32 players that have already been selected as Man of the Year for their respective teams. These upstanding players are therefore now eligible to win the prestigious national award presented by Nationwide.

As the NFL puts it, the award represents “the best of the NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact.”

NFL Man of the Year Award
Mark J. Terrill/Associated Press

Having a Positive Impact

The award honors players who’ve demonstrated “outstanding community service activities off the field, as well as excellence on the field.” Those nominated have gone above and beyond what’s required of them as players in terms of positively impacting their communities.

“The Man of the Year Award gives us the opportunity to acknowledge 32 exemplary players whose commitment to excellence extends on and off the field,” explained NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. “This year’s nominees have used their platforms to transform communities across the country. We are proud of their work and celebrate their dedication and impact through this award.”

The Award Itself

Established in 1970, the national award was renamed to honor the late Chicago Bears running back Walter Payton in 1999.

For 2018, the award will include half a million dollars in charitable donations in the name of the winner.

“$250,000 will be donated in his name to expand Character Playbook, the NFL and United Way’s digital character education program,” says the NFL website. “An additional donation of $250,000 will be donated to the charity of his choice.”

Additionally, all of the other nominees will receive donations totaling $100,000 each as well. All of the donations are provided courtesy of the NFL Foundation, Nationwide, and United Way Worldwide.

Fan Participation

Henceforth, between December 6 and January 13, fans are encouraged to get involved on social media. The Charity Challenge campaign, sponsored by Nationwide, will consequently help to promote and support individual nominees.

To participate, fans can vote for their favorite nominee by using the #WPMOYChallenge hashtag on twitter. They’ll also want to include the last name of their pick for Man of the Year in that same tweet. The player who subsequently receives the most mentions will receive a $25,000 charitable contribution to the organization of their choice.

By using the appropriate hashtags to participate, fans will also be entered to win a selection of prices as well.